On the brook side behind the Bankfield Hotel and Bankfield Terrace, there stood, for about a hundred years, a Bone Mill. This mill was erected about the end of the 18th century, by Mr. Randal Hibbert; it had a picturesque appearance, which was enhanced by the lake-like reservoir behind it; and at one time it was a very busy place. It was demolished circa 1903.
Randal Hibbert built Boston Mills, and it was at these mills that the Ashton’s first began cotton spinning.
Modern map showing the location of the Bone Mill.